BouchersFor 40 years Upper Darby Summer Stage has entertained families in suburban Philadelphia, setting the standard across the country for youth theater programs.

Our Children’s Theater productions feature students – who work side-by-side with theater professionals – presenting top-quality Children’s musicals designed to spark the imaginations of young audiences and creating a life-long love of live theater.

Every summer over 700 students work with a team of professional directors, choreographers, musicians, and technicians to produce six hour-long shows Children’s Theater musicals. The students are taught how to engage young theater-goers, sharing their talent with the young audience members.

While you are waiting for the show to start, Summer Stage members interact with your children offering pre-show activities.  Free babysitting is offered in our lobby for those too young to enjoy the show.  After the show, our performers will be available to meet your child for autographs and photos.

 

Upcoming Children's Theater Shows

Annie, Jr.

Summer Stage kicks off its 42nd season as the irrepressible comic strip heroine takes center stage in one of the world’s best-loved, award-winning musicals.
Dates
  • Wed Jul 5, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 6, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 6, 2017 7:30 pm
  • Fri Jul 7, 2017 10:30 am

Madagascar, A Musical Adventure, Jr.

Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Melman the Giraffe, Gloria the hip hip Hippo and, of course, those hilarious, plotting penguins bound onto our stage in the musical adventure of a lifetime. 
Dates
  • Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:30 pm
  • Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:30 am

Shrek, The Musical, Jr.

Everyone's favorite ogre is back in this hilarious stage spectacle, based on the Oscar-winning smash hit film and hit Broadway musical and featuring dozens of fairy tale characters.
Dates
  • Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:30 pm
  • Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:30 am

How I Became Pirate

Sail off on a fantastic musical excursion when a band of comical pirates lands at North Beach looking for an expert digger to join their crew. Braid Beard and his mates enlist young Jeremy Jacob, as they try to find the perfect spot to bury their treasure.
Dates
  • Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:30 pm
  • Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:30 am

Curious George and The Golden Meatball

Curious George, the inquisitive, lovable monkey-star of books, movies and the award-winning PBS television show stars in a loveable adventure!
Dates
  • Wed Aug 2, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Aug 3, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Aug 3, 2017 7:30 pm
  • Fri Aug 4, 2017 10:30 am

Disney’s Beauty and the Beast Jr.

Disney’s Beauty and the Beast Jr. is a magical adaptation of the Broadway musical, animated film and now live action movie.
Dates
  • Wed Aug 9, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:30 am
  • Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:30 pm
  • Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:30 am